The Five Sakya Founders

Top centre Sachen Kunga Nyingpo; top left Lopon Sonam Tsemo; top right Jetsun Dragpa Gyaltsen; centre Sakya Pandita Kunga Gyaltsen Pal Sangpo; bottom centre Dragon Chogyal Phagpa


The Sakya tradition, one of the four major branches of Buddhism in Tibet, played a significant role in the development and spread of the new Tantras that were introduced to Tibet in the 11th century. In 1264, with Kublai Khan’s granting of religious and secular rulership to Chogyal Phagpa, the Sakya-pas became the principal political power in Tibet. The political rulership was relinquished in 1354, but the unique Sakya religious tradition continued to flourish and is now vibrantly present in many parts of the world.

Click Here to learn more about the Sakya tradition


His Holiness the 41st Sakya Trichen
His Holiness the 42nd Kyabgon Gongma Trizin, Ratna Vajra Rinpoche
His Eminence Khöndung Gyana Vajra Rinpoche